Slot finder
Rip City slot by Hacksaw Gaming

Rip City Slot Review

Free demo, RTP, volatility and max win

8.1Value score · Very good · how it works

Rip City review: Hacksaw Gaming's 5x5 slot with expanding Wild Cats, WILD multipliers up to 200x, two bonus modes, four RTP versions and a 12,500x max win.

  • #562by value of 3,708 slots
  • #10by value of 36 Hacksaw Gaming slots
  • #1441by RTP of 3,708 slots

Play Rip City free: demo, no sign-up

Free play money from Hacksaw Gaming's official demo. 18+. No deposit and no account; a demo does not predict real results.

Rip City · Hacksaw Gaming official demo

Basic information

Rip City basic information
SoftwareHacksaw Gaming
Release yearNot published
RTP96.22% | 94.27% | 92.32% | 88.02%
VolatilityNot published
Max winx12,500
Hit frequencyNot published
Reels and rows5 × 5
Win systemPaylines, 19 paylines
FeaturesBonus buy, Ante bet, Paylines
Named in the rulesWILD CAT SYMBOL, WILD SYMBOL, RO$$ BONUS, MAXX BONUS
Game typeSlot
Data verified2026-09-28

Source: Hacksaw Gaming game page; RTP database by toolsgambling.com (CC BY 4.0); image: Hacksaw Gaming promotional image from the official game page. How we collect data · Report a mistake

Rip City review

Hacksaw Gaming invites players to go to town on R.I.P. City, and the star of the show is a wild cat. It expands down the reel, and if it passes through a WILD symbol on the way, it picks up a multiplier. Two bonus modes build on this, one by making cats more common and the other by locking a cat onto each reel. The game has a 5x5 grid with 19 paylines and records four RTP versions.

How the Wild Cat expands

A Wild Cat only expands when the expanded symbol would be part of at least one winning combination. It always expands downward, to the bottom of the grid, and counts as a wild on every position it covers. A Wild Cat that does not expand counts as one ordinary wild. Each reel can hold only one cat at a time.

Wins are paid on 19 lines from left to right on adjacent reels, so the cat is useful mainly when it is placed where a line needs to be completed.

WILD multipliers

A separate WILD symbol adds the multiplier layer. If an expanding Wild Cat passes through a WILD, the cat turns into a multiplier that applies to the whole expanded symbol. The values run from 2x up to 200x. If a winning combination contains more than one multiplier cat, the values are added first and the sum is then applied to the win.

Adding rather than multiplying keeps the combined factor smaller than a product would, but a few high values can still add up quickly.

Ro$$ Bonus and Maxx Bonus

Both bonus modes are triggered by free spin scatters that land together in the base game, and both start with 10 free spins.

Ro$$ Bonus

Triggered by three scatters. Wild Cats and WILD symbols land more often than in the base game. Three scatters during the round add 4 spins. Four scatters during the round lead to the Maxx Bonus at the end of the current spin.

Maxx Bonus

Triggered by four scatters. A reel is activated when a Wild Cat lands on it, and from then on a Wild Cat lands on that reel on every remaining free spin. Three scatters during the round add 4 spins.

A note on the catalogue

Our mechanics data marks free spins as absent for this game, while the studio's rules describe two bonus modes with 10 free spins each. We follow the rules. The game also has an ante-style option and five bonus-buy choices. The prices are not stated in the data we hold, so we quote none.

Four RTP versions in the numbers

The catalogue lists 96.22%, 94.27%, 92.32% and 88.02%, with house edges of 3.78%, 5.73%, 7.68% and 11.98%. The studio's rules show a placeholder, so we cannot tell which version a given site runs. The headline is 96.22%.

Per $1,000 wagered the average loss is $37.80 at the top version and $119.80 at the lowest. In 100 spins at $1 that is $3.78 against $11.98, and at $5 it is $18.90 against $59.90. No volatility label is published. The max win is 12,500x the bet: $2,500 at $0.20, $12,500 at $1 and $62,500 at $5.

Xmas Drop lists the same 96.22% and 12,500x with Medium volatility. Temple of Torment lists 96.2% and Grug Make Fire 96.19% with High volatility, both at 10,000x.

Pros

  • Expanding Wild Cats fill the reel when it creates a win
  • WILD multipliers from 2x to 200x, added together in one win
  • Two bonus modes, each with 10 free spins
  • Max win of 12,500x, above several similar games

Cons

  • Four RTP versions, with the lowest at 88.02% and an 11.98% house edge
  • No volatility label is published
  • Buy and ante prices are not stated in the data we hold
  • No official free demo is listed in our catalogue

Verdict

Rip City is a payline slot with a single clear idea: a cat that expands down the reel and can pick up multipliers of up to 200x on its way. The best version has a 96.22% RTP and a 3.78% house edge, while the lowest listed one costs 11.98%, so the version matters. With no volatility published, expect to learn the pace only by watching small stakes. It is paid entertainment, nothing more.

Sources: Hacksaw Gaming official game page; RTP, volatility and max win from the open Slot RTP Database.

Slots like Rip City

Xmas DropHacksaw Gaming · RTP 96.22%
Temple of TormentHacksaw Gaming · RTP 96.2%
Eye of the PandaHacksaw Gaming · RTP 96.26%
Warrior Graveyard xNudgeNolimit City · RTP 96.16%
Gaelic GoldNolimit City · RTP 96.15%

Rip City RTP versions

4 RTP versions of Rip City are recorded. Casinos choose which one to run, so the number you get depends on where you play. Each bar shows what that version keeps on average per $1,000 wagered.

  • 96.22%Highest $37.80 lost per $1,000
  • 94.27% $57.30 lost per $1,000
  • 92.32% $76.80 lost per $1,000
  • 88.02%Lowest $119.80 lost per $1,000

Cost of 100 spins

Expected cost of 100 spins
BetWageredAverage cost at 96.22%At 88.02%
$0.20$20$0.76$2.40
$1$100$3.78$11.98
$5$500$18.90$59.90

Averages computed from the published RTP; real sessions vary widely around them. RTP calculator

Rip City max win, volatility & stats

Headline RTP vs all slotshigher than 61%
Lowest recorded RTP vs all slotshigher than 11%
Max win vs slots with a published max winhigher than 77%
RTP among Hacksaw Gaming games#27 of 36
Value score
8.1 / 10
Lost per $1,000 (average)
$37.80
Max win at $1 bet
$12,500
Wins on average
–

Percentiles compare this game with the 3,708 games in the catalogue. Max win: 12,500×.

More from Hacksaw Gaming

All Hacksaw Gaming slots

Le PrechaunHacksaw Gaming · RTP 97.52%
Epic Ze ZeusHacksaw Gaming · RTP 96.22%
Chaos Crew 2Hacksaw Gaming · RTP 96.27%
DenshoHacksaw Gaming · RTP 96.4%
Dark SummoningHacksaw Gaming · RTP 96.36%
Chaos CrewHacksaw Gaming · RTP 96.3%

Rip City Slot FAQ

What is the RTP of Rip City?
The headline RTP is 96.22%. The catalogue also lists 94.27%, 92.32% and 88.02%, with house edges from 3.78% to 11.98%.
How do the Wild Cat symbols work in Rip City?
A Wild Cat expands downward when this makes it part of a win. If it passes through a WILD symbol it gains a multiplier, and several multipliers in one win are added together.
What is the difference between Ro$$ Bonus and Maxx Bonus?
Three scatters start Ro$$ Bonus, with more Wild Cats and WILDs. Four scatters start Maxx Bonus, where a reel keeps a Wild Cat once one lands on it. Both start with 10 free spins.
What is the max win on Rip City?
12,500x the bet, which is $12,500 at a $1 stake and $62,500 at $5.
Can I play the Rip City demo without signing up?
Yes. The official Hacksaw Gaming demo runs on this page with play money: no download, no account and no deposit.
Does Rip City have a bonus buy?
Yes. The studio’s rules or game page name a bonus buy that starts the feature for a multiple of the bet. Bonus buys are not offered in every market.
Is there a best time to play Rip City?
No. Every spin is decided by a certified random number generator and is independent of the time, the day and earlier spins. The 96.22% RTP is a long-run average, not a schedule.
Who makes Rip City?
Rip City is made by Hacksaw Gaming. Every Hacksaw Gaming game in the catalogue is listed on the studio’s page.
How much does Rip City cost per $1,000 wagered?
On average about $38 at 96.22% RTP and about $120 at the lowest version (88.02%). This is a long-run average, not a prediction for a session.
Where does the data on Rip City come from?
The RTP, volatility, max win and release details come from the Slot RTP Database by toolsgambling.com (CC BY 4.0), which links each row to the studio’s own page. It was last verified on 2026-09-28.